Visa Waiver

The visa waiver is also known as a visa on arrival in Thailand. The rules have changed since you might have last been in Thailand. If you are arriving in Thailand and you cross a land border everyone now gets 15 days stay in Thailand but if you arrive visa an international airport the you get 30 days based on your nationality.

Visa Waiver

The following countries when they arrive in Thailand by plane they will receive 30 days stay in Thailand being that the visa will be waived for 30 days also known as a visa on arrival. These countries are allowed 30 days in Thailand without a visa.

1. Australia : Commonwealth of Australia
2. Austria : Republic of Austria
3. Belgium : Kingdom of Belgium
4. Brazil : Federative Republic of Brazil
5. Bahrain : State of Bahrain
6. Brunei Darussalam : Negara Brunei Darussalam
7. Canada
8. Denmark : Kingdom of Denmark
9. Finland : Republic of Finland
10. France : French Republic
11. Germany : Federal Republic of Germany
12. Greece : Hellenic Republic
13. Hong Kong : Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
14. Iceland : Republic of Iceland
15. Indonesia : Republic of Indonesia
16. Ireland : Republic of Ireland
17. Israel : State of Israel
18. Italy : Republic of Italy
19. Japan
20. Korea : Republic of Korea
21. Kuwait : State of Kuwait
22. Luxembourg : Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
23. Malaysia
24. Monaco : Principality of Monaco
25. Netherlands : Kingdom of the Netherlands
26. New Zealand
27. Norway : Kingdom of Norway
28. Oman : Sultanate of Oman
29. Peru : Republic of Peru
30. Philippines : Republic of the Philippines
31. Portugal : Republic of Portugal
32. Qatar : State of Qatar
33. Singapore : Republic of Singapore
34. Spain : Kingdom of Spain
35. South Africa : Republic of South Africa
36. Sweden : Kingdom of Sweden
37. Switzerland : Swiss Confederation
38. Turkey : Republic of Turkey
39. United Arab Emirates
40. United Kingdom : United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
41. United States of America
42. Vietnam : Socialist Republic of Vietnam

Nationals from such countries as India only receive 15 days on arrival visa the airport or border crossing. They also need to show they they have an onward ticket and money to support themselves while in Thailand. They need to show 10,000 THB per person or 20,000THB per family when arriving in Thailand. This is for all those form the following countries which only get 15 days on arrival.

1. Bhutan : Kingdom of Bhutan
2. China : People’s Republic of China
3. Cyprus : Republic of Cyprus
4. Czech : Czech Republic
5. Estonia : Republic of Estonia
6. Hungary : Republic of Hungary
7. India : Republic of India
8. Kazakhstan : Republic of Kazakhstan
9. Latvia : Republic of Latvia
10. Liechtenstein : Principality of Liechtenstein
11. Lithuania : Republic of Lithuania
12. Maldives : Republic of Maldives
13. Mauritius : Republic of Mauritius
14. Oman : Sultanate of Oman
15. Poland : Republic of Poland
16. Russian Federation
17. Saudi Arabia : Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
18. Slovakia : Slovak Republic
19. Slovenia : Republic of Slovenia
20. Uzbekistan
21. Ukraine
22. Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
23. Taiwan
24. Bulgaria
25. Andorra
26. Malta
27. Romania
28. San Marino

If you are from any of these countries it is best to obtain a tourist visa which will give you 60 days stay in Thailand with the option to extend this by another 30 days for a fee of 1,900 THB at Thai Immigration. If you are married to a Thai you cab apply for a marriage visa before you arrive. Speak to us about the visa options available to you before you arrive in Thailand.

Do it NOW!

2 replies on “Visa Waiver”

Thank you for your information. I only wanna confirm Vietnamese travellers still get Thai visa exemption for 30 days in the country in October 2016. Thank you.

Yes, Vietnamese passport holders are still exempted from applying for a visa for a maximum of 30 days if they arrive by air or 15 days if they arrive by land.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *